top of page
Search
  • Bisley Benefice

About Ashing Service – 18th February

Yesterday was the first day of Lent and, in churches that are open, some would have held a Service of Ashing where ashes formed by burning the previous year’s Palm Crosses are used to mark a cross on the forehead as a sign of humility before God.


For a few hours, the recipient carries this symbol of sorrow at the death that sin brings into the world.


During Lent we can examine our lives with this prayer in Psalm 139 and then reflect on what needs to change to further our Christian life as we journey towards Easter.


“Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my thoughts.

See if there is any wicked way in me”.


Image credit: All Souls Church, St Margarets, Twickenham

14 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page