top of page
Search
  • Bisley Benefice

Stations of the Cross V and VI – 11th March

We adore you, O Christ, and we praise you because by your Holy Cross you have redeemed

the world.


I love you, Lord Jesus, my love, above all things. I repent with my whole heart for having

offended you. Never permit me to separate myself from you again. Grant that I may love

you always and then do with me as you will.


V Simon of Cyrene carries the Cross


We remember the cross of Jesus

Jesus was captured at night, taken away by soldiers, stripped of his garments, interrogated, tortured, crowned with sharp thorns and condemned to death by Pontius Pilate. He carried his cross through the streets of Jerusalem, becoming weaker by the moment. We adore you …


We name the crosses of today: The soldiers are becoming impatient. This is taking longer than they want so they grab a man out of the crowd. He was just watching what was happening but now he has no choice: he is helping you carry your cross.


Sometimes I try to do as little as I can and still get by. Others might need my help, but I ignore their needs. Even when I'm asked to help, I sometimes claim to be too busy or I am impatient when someone is slow.


May my conscience be like Simon: may I come forward to help those who are falling under the heavy crosses of this life.


We Pray: Give us the grace to see, respect and love you in all people. Change our hearts that we may see with new eyes those we might otherwise choose to ignore. I love you, Lord Jesus ….


VI Veronica wipes the face of Jesus


We remember the cross of Jesus

Isaiah the prophet wrote ‘A man to make people screen their faces, he was despised, and we took no account of him’. His words had no resonance for Veronica; this was not the way she saw it. We know nothing of her but among those closest to Jesus were many women and many of them had been forgiven their sins and cured of the evils that afflicted them. The tradition is that she had to show compassion and tenderness to the one who had shown her so much love so she gently wiped his face. To move out of the crowd to touch a condemned man and wipe the blood and sweat and tears from his disfigured face was an act of courage. We adore you …


We name the crosses of today: Today the visible face of Christ, the church, stands before us still wounded and disfigured and our society is disfigured by its own sins of abuse, racism, sexism, misuse of power and authority. The face of Christ calls us to look upon and heal the sin of ourselves, our church and our nation.


We Pray: Jesus, give your wounded Church the courage so that we may wash the face of Christ clean from the disfigurements of our sin. Help us to bring healing to the scars that hide the beauty of your face to our world. Give us the faith to continue to build your Church as a visible sign of your love and compassion. I love you, Lord Jesus…

 

5. Westminster Cathedral. 6. St Mary of the Angels, Bisley


4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page