top of page
Search
  • Fran Peck

'The Crucifixion' by Fran Peck – 19th February

I laughed and mocked as He walked that day,

up a hill to redeem my soul.


I joined the crowd to spit and jeer,

and I watched His sorrow grow.


I drove every nail deep in His hands

with every sin in my heart.


My rebellion shoved the thorns in His head,

and my strife tore His robe apart.


I used my hatred to give Him a bitter drink,

and I glared down on Him with pride.


I thought of past disappointments,

and with my anger, I pierced His side.


I denied His power and ignored His worth

and stood waiting for His life to end.


I watched the last drop of His blood fall,

not knowing my grief would begin.


I looked at my hands; they were stained with blood,

and then I began to see.


Conviction slowly entered my heart,

and I dropped all my weapons of choice:

the pride, the anger, the hatred, the lust,

and then I heard His voice.


"Forgive her Father, I died for her. I paid the price for her soul,

I bore her sickness and all of her pain and now I have made her whole."


He looked down on me with loving eyes. He saw my present, my future, my past.

He knew I needed a Saviour and my soul had found Him at last.


I looked around to find His accusers - but no one was there but me.









Syringa vulgaris

Symbol of purity, divinity and innocence

8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page